Foundation for Community Education
HomeGovernanceProfess. EndorsementsInitiativesRelated OrganizationsLegacyHonorsArticles

In Memory of:

Larry Horyna of Park City, Utah was president of NCEA in 1977 and served in many leadership positions in community education before he retired from the Utah Department of Education. Larry is probably best known as the Director of the Northwest Center for Community Education at the University of Oregon in the 1970's and 1980's. He provided technical assistance to communities across the northwestern states and Alaska, and was responsible for training hundreds of community educators in that region. Jack Minzey, a long time leader in community education wrote that "Larry was such a wonderful person and an outstanding professional. He was the guilding light for most of us and a true friend. Many times we shared his wisdom and sense of humor, and many of us have wonderful memories of our times with him and his wife Pat."

Marilyn Kerns of St. Paul, Minnesota served as NCEA president in 1992. She provided a great deal of leadership to the growth of community education in the state of Minnesota through her work in the state association and as director of the Center for Community Edcation at St. Thomas University. Marilyn was surrounded by a strong circle of friends who referred to themselves as "The Sisterhood". They were there for her during a long illness. Marilyn was especially known for her wisdom and dry sense of humor. 


Bob Berridge
Odell Broadway
Duane Brown
Ed Brown
Dan Cady
Clyde Campbell
Richard Chierico
Paul Clancy
Larry Decker
Paul DeLargy
Pat Edwards
Tom Fish
Gloria Gregg
Isreal Heaton
Joe Herrity
Larry Hornya
Starla Jewell-Kelly
Deke Johnson
V.M. Kerensky
George Kliminski
Frank Manley
Ernest Melby
Bill Minardo
Jack Minzey
Charles Stewart Mott
Harding Mott
Everett Nance
Burton Olson
Steve Parson
Marge Pearlson
Dick Pendell
Charles Porter
Doug Procunier
Hugh Rohrer
Joe Ryder
Maurice Seay
Eric Smith
Stave Stark
Lou Tasse
Fred Totten

NCEA Past Presidents

1966 Clyde Le Tarte
1966 Clyde Le Tarte
1968 Allan Dighera
1969 Lou Tasse
1970 Jack Minzey
1971 Bill Kerensky
1972 Don Weaver
1973 Curtis Van Voorhees
1974 Dan Cady
1975 William Bright
1976 Chuck Porter
1977 Larry Horyna
1978 Thomas Fish
1979 John Fallon
1980 Sidney Miller
1981 James Klassen
1982 Harry Allen
1983 Skip Liebertz
1984 Phil Hartman
1985 George Kliminski
1986 Steve Parson
1987 William Kendrick
1988 Shirley Bryant
1989 Vince Vento
1990 William Cirone
1991 Bill Smith
1992 Marilyn Kerns
1993 R P M Bowden
1994 Don Kramlinger
1995 Ed Brown
1996 Dan Kuzlik
1997 Bridge Gothberg
1998 Duane Rupert
1999 Jill Waters
2000 John Kennedy
2001 Pat Shafer
2002 Bob Wittman
2003 John Windom
2004 Kevin Koester
2005 Louise Summers
2006 Pam Shelton
2007 Deb Elder
2008 Mike Looby
2009 Joel Nitzberg
2010 Doug Wood